Release date: 16th September 2016 via HUB Records

Following on from the critically acclaimed 2015 album ‘All Your Favourite Bands’ which debuted at number 1 on the Billboard Folk Albums and number 4 on the Top Rock Albums charts, Dawes are back with a new album.

Building on the foundation of the previous release, Dawes have come back stronger and with Taylor Goldsmith (vocals, guitar) Wylie Gelber (bass), Griffin Goldsmith (drums, vocals, percussion) and Lee Pardini (keyboards, vocals) joined by other artists Jim James of My Morning Jacket, Brittany Howard of The Alabama Shakes, Mandy Moore, Will Oldham, and Jess Wolfe and Holly Laessig of Lucius providing backing vocals on the songs, this leads to a lush soundscape of melodies across the 10 tracks.

Starting off with ‘One Of Us’ this up-tempo number crashes into the album and has a heavier feel than previous records, which is no bad thing as this is a very radio-friendly track, that can only widen the appeal of who will dig the newer sound and the fuzz-infused vocals compliment the upbeat vibe. This continues on songs such as ‘Roll With The Punches’ that has a distinctive guitar solo breaking into the verses before soaring through the chorus, to give a slightly retro vibe. ‘Picture Of A Man’ has an almost African feel to it, with a melodic keyboard picking out the distinctive percussion and keeps with the ethos across the record in that the lyrics tend to be one of hope in some of the more darker times. ‘Less Than Five Miles Away’ is a series of sad situations that makes you sit and listen and in a way niggles at that social conscience that can convey a powerful message in any song.

Staying true to their more folk roots, ‘We’re All Gonna Die’ doesn’t rewrite the Dawes sound completely, as the title track has a more stripped back tone, with its swirling harmonies and a delicate feel that masks the sombre lyrics, whilst ‘Roll Tide’ shows the band have an aptitude for being the story tellers of a modern generation.

The multi-layered sound heard across songs such as ‘When The Tequila Runs Out’ and ‘Quitter’ lends itself to hearing something new each time you play the album, which adds another dimension and means you won’t tire of it quickly as you explore a rabbit warren of musical interludes.

‘We’re All Gonna Die’ is an album of light and dark, both the music and lyrics reflect this throughout the songs, especially as each track seems as you are being taken through a journey . If Dawes were one of your favourite bands before, then this album is only going to cement that fact, if not, then they may very well become a new favourite after listening to their latest offering and which many will consider to be their best album to date.


‘We’re All Gonna Die’ Track listing:

  1. One Of Us
  2. We’re All Gonna Die
  3. Roll With The Punches
  4. Picture Of A Man
  5. Less Than Five Miles Away
  6. Roll Tide
  7. When The Tequila Runs Out
  8. For No Good Reason
  9. Quitter
  10. As If By Design

You can pre-order the album here: http://dawestheband.com/store/pre-order-new-album