The Bastard Sons

York-based heavy rock’n’roll quintet The Bastard Sons have recently released their long-awaited debut album ‘Smoke’, via Kaiju Records. The album is available to buy now on iTunes and Bandcamp and can be streamed in full from their soundcloud page.

Including their iTunes Metal Chart #1 single, ‘Release The Hounds’, the album jumped straight into the iTunes Metal Chart Top 5 on release day.

Leaving their party-anthems (for the most part) behind them, front man JJ Jackson comments on the new material; “I always said with previous releases that I would never open up too much and write lyrics that meant too much to me personally, but with ‘Smoke’ things have changed. I just had to get out my inner frustrations with all the inaccurate crap we are fed through the media; it’s leading us towards negativity instead of pushing humanity forward to a more balanced, harmonious breed.”

After a storming 18 months that saw them on a US tour with Throw The Goat, their first ever Hammerfest VI appearance, a main support slot to legendary Californian hardcore punks Snot, an appearance at Bloodstock Festival and shows alongside ’68 (the new project from The Chariot man Josh Scogin), Cavorts and a host of others, support for the band has been steadily building following the release of their first two records.

The ‘Bones’ and ‘Roads’ EPs attracted praise in the alternative press from Kerrang Magazine, Rock Sound, Big Cheese Magazine, Metal Hammer, Terrorizer, Skin Deep and more, with support at TV and radio also falling in line in the face of their southern-tinged guitar assault.

‘Smoke’ Tracklisting:

1. The Bastard
2. Release The Hounds
3. A Lie Is A Lie
4. Sobre La Muerte II
5. Bottom Of The Ladder
6. I’m Only A Call Away
7. U.S. Against Them
8. Listen Here
9. Cardboard Walls
10. Scene(ic) Root(s)
11. Stay True (Feat. Davey Richmond)
12. Exist – Distance