Shoegaze altrock clan Maff emerge from Chile with debut ‘Maff’ EP.

Hailing from Chile’s capital Santiago, Maff present their debut self-titled EP, featuring 8 tracks that delightfully whisp you in a whirlwind through such genres as shoegaze, alternative rock, noise pop and indie verging on grunge, but with a dose of electronica thrown in the blend. It’s no wonder how this has happened, considering the bands they cite as their main influences – The Jesus and Mary Chain, The Pixies, Ride, Sonic Youth, and My Bloody Valentine.

Although a young band, their sound has made its way into some notable ears. Upon hearing them, celebrated dreampop duo Ummagma has embraced their music and even created a radio edit for ‘Walking on Fire’. “It’s rare that music this good from as far away as Santiago, for instance, finds a place among your faves, but that is exactly what has happened here. This warms your skin and gives you goosebumps,” explains Ummagma. Maff has also caught the attention of Creation Records’ Joe Foster.

Maff was originally founded in 2012 by Richi Gómez (Vocals / Bass / Guitar) & Nicolás (Nek) Colombres (Drums), who have been friends since childhood and have previously played together in various punk rock bands. They were later joined by Martín Colombres (Guitar) and Talo Correa (Guitar / Bass / Vocals / Synth). Maff composed, recorded and produced this EP in their own studio, lovingly called ‘The Lab’, owing to the experimental output they concoct. This EP explores such themes as innocence, mysticism, true love, loss, drugs, freedom and timelessness.

The Maff EP is available for pre-order on Bandcamp both digitally and on CD.

‘Maff’ Tracklisting:

1. Act 1
2. Linger Around
3. Walking On Fire
4. Million Year Picnic
5. Someday
6. You
7. Planet Wave
8. Blue Seas
9. Walking On Fire (Radio Edit)