Stone The Crowz

80s punk band Stone The Crowz have released a new album entitled ‘Protest Songs 85-86’ via Overground Records.

Formed in East London/Essex, a mutual love of Crass and all things anarcho first brought Trevor Speed and Trevor Delasalle together and the band was formed. After several false starts with different musicians they finally found what we were looking for in Steve Beatty (drums) and Matthew Sheath (bass). Their name was taken from a Death Church lyric, although many thought using the Z to replace the S at the end of Crowz was just a case of punk rock spelling but in fact it was to ensure they were not mistaken for the Glaswegian Blues Rock band of the same name.

In just under a year the band were in the studio and recorded their first six track demo in 1985. All the anarcho subjects were covered but with three vegetarians and one vegan in the band their real passion was animal rights.

A second demo with a much angrier feel soon followed. This time the words were backed up with members of the band being involved in hunt sabbing and other forms of direct action. Tracks from both demos ended up of vinyl: ‘Mortarhate’s We Won’t Be Your Fucking Poor’, ‘Endangered Music’s Relying On Us ‘EP and ‘Punk Lives, Let’s Slam’ released by Slam Records.

The band disbanded soon after due to the all-encompassing phrase ‘musical differences’ with a metal edge was now being incorporated into the song writing.

The new release is available in 17 track CD and a 16 track LP (clear vinyl + CD) from Overground Records:

What we do

‘Protest Songs 85-86’ Track Listing:

1. Skin Deep
2. Friendship Through Profit
3. No More Asking Nicely
4. Religion Only Exists
5. Skin Deep
6. Blood On Your Hands
7. New Dawn Of Death
8. Cuntstable ‘85
9. Deaf To Death
10. No way
11. No More Asking Nicely
12. Religion Only Exists
13. Suffer Little Children
14. Minds Decayed
15. Friendship Through Profit
16. Blood On Your Hands (Live)