Crom Dubh

London’s progressive black metallers Crom Dubh, have released their long-awaited debut album, ‘Heimweh’, via Ván Records.

Crom Dubh play black metal with folk and post-rock influences, in the vein of Primordial, Drudkh, Ash Borer, and Darkthrone.

‘Heimweh’ (‘Homesickness’) continues the narrative of their 2010 EP ‘Deifr’, in which the gathering and dissolution of a great river operated as a metaphor for the rise and fall of nations and civilisations. ‘Heimweh’ follows a similar path, albeit with a focus on the life of the lone individual within this tumult, following a traditional cradle-to-grave progression throughout the course of the album that runs parallel to Hesiod’s five ages of man. The album handles themes of loss, rootlessness, nostalgia, exile, and death, thinking on the journey ahead and the way home.

Crom Dubh (pronounced Crom Doo or Crom Doobh) is an Irish harvest god, whose name translates into English as ‘the dark and crooked one’. Crom Dubh is a forgotten god, whose fragmentary identity lingers only as a palimpsest of millennia-old traditions buried by later accretions.


‘Heimweh’ Track Listing

1. Cutting Teeth I
2. Cutting Teeth II
3. The Invulnerable Tide
4. Kings I
5. Kings II
6. Sedition
7. Heimweh
8. Fathom
9. Sailing To Byzantium