Blackberry Smoke

Classic Rock Magazine recently asked of Blackberry Smoke “Is this the new Lynyrd Skynyrd?” Whilst comparisons are always going to be made, with the release of their latest album ‘Holding All The Roses’, Blackberry Smoke have proved with this excellent record that they are very much a band of their own making.

Charlie Starr (Lead Vocals, Guitar), Richard Turner (Bass, Vocals) Paul Jackson (Guitar, Vocals), Bandon Still (Keyboards) and Brit Turner (Drums) have gained a considerable following since releasing their album ‘The Whippoorwill’ in 2012, which charted in countries around the world, and ‘Holding All The Roses’ shows why this band are at the top of their game with what they do.

“Why’s it got to be the same damn thing, same damn song that everybody wants to sing” are the first words that Charlie Starr sings on the opening track ‘Let Me Help You (Find The Door)’ and this pretty much sums up the entire album. Blackberry Smoke have released 12 tracks of brilliance and this is going to be the album that will change opinions about certain styles of music.

Full of that delicious southern rock sound, tracks such as track ‘Let Me Help You (Find The Door)’, ‘Holding All The Roses’, ‘Payback’s a Bitch’ and ‘Living In The Song’ all pack a punch with lush sounding guitars and brilliant sounding harmonies. ‘Rock And Roll Again’ is a foot stomper of a song, whilst the contrasting ‘Woman In The Moon’ and ‘Fire In The Hole’ both have a slower groove to them, as the vocals soar over the guitars and keyboards. Even the instrumental track ‘Randolph County Farewell’ which is full of excellent guitars, sounds so right on the album. ‘No Way Back To Eden’ has a catchy percussion that flows through the entire song and the slightly more country style to this song is a delight to listen to.

Lyrically ‘Holding All The Roses’ covers subjects which reflects hope, frustration, and some angst you come to expect with the band but they wrap up all of their thoughts in an intelligent and well written way. No matter how dark some of the lyrics seem, you feel the band are able to overcome anything life throws at them.

The 12-song album was produced by Grammy-winner Brendan O’Brien, whose has worked with an array of successful artists such as Bruce Springsteen, Aerosmith, AC/DC, Neil Young, Pearl Jam, and this shows in the epic sounding production of the album.

Blackberry Smoke are back better than ever with ‘Holding All The Roses’ and this is going to be considered a classic album in years to come. Lynyrd Skynyrd are probably going to wish this was they album they had recorded.

‘Holding All The Roses’ Track Listing:

1. Let Me Help You (Find the Door)
2. Holding All the Roses
3. Living in the Song
4. Rock and Roll Again
5. Woman in the Moon
6. Too High
7. Wish in One Hand
8. Randolph County Farewell
9. Payback’s a Bitch
10. Lay It All on Me
11. No Way Back to Eden
12. Fire in the Hole